Review: China Glaze Nail Polish in ‘Nice Caboose’

This is my first China Glaze nail varnish and the more I think about it the more I am confused about why I never tried them before. The range of colours is amazing and I have always heard nothing but good reviews about them.

P1080516So I decided to buy one and I wanted a great dark purple for Autumn/ winter that was more on the red side of purple than the blue side like I already have. So I thought that ‘Nice Caboose’ would be the perfect colour for this.

I am going to start with a kind of odd things about this varnish. The colour that appears in the jar is actually how it dries with two coats. I have so many polishes that look amazing in the jar but when they are on your nails they are too sheer or too dark when dry but this one is perfect and looks exactly the same in the bottle.

I hope this is the case with other China Glaze polishes as I get really annoyed when how it is in the bottle is not the same as the dried nail colour.

So the shade itself is a dark purple with a slight slitter of the same shade and a gloss finish. I was quite sceptical of the consistency of the polish when IP1080517 was trying it on for the first time as it is a little too runny for my liking as I prefer a thicker polish. However it applies really nicely despite being a little on the thin side.

The colour pay out is great I would say you could get away with only one coat but two is really better. Drying times is very quick, probably due to the thin consistency. I would say that it took about 10 minutes to dry 100% with two coats and about half an hour till I knew it wasn’t going to smudge or get ruined.

P1080524The application I had to get used to. The brush is very long and thin; the thinnest of the brush is really helpful for applying the product evenly and getting in to those little spaces however the length I found made me a little clumsy when applying in some places as I felt like I didn’t have a lot of control. Kind of like if you try to write with your hand half way up the pen. I did get used to it in the end but it was a little awkward to use at the start.

In terms of being chip resistant I got about four days wear with no chips at all and about a week until I decided to remove the polish. I didn’t use a top coat and I probably will next time I wear this as it might make it last longer. However with the drying times being so quick a little spot check of the nails isn’t going to take very long to do.

I will be purchasing more of China Glaze’s range as I am really happy with this one so leave a comment saying what I should get next.

One thought on “Review: China Glaze Nail Polish in ‘Nice Caboose’

Leave a Reply

