Top 5: Eyeshadow Palettes

P1080027

Another top 5 for you today guys and this is on my favourite eyeshadow palettes. Palettes are great when you are just starting out with make up or you are not too sure what goes with what when it comes to colours.

Eyeshadow palettes are designed so you can use a variety of colours at once and they tend to have similar textures or styles depending on what palette so it makes creating eyeshadow look much easier.

So here are my top 5 eyeshadow palettes in no particular order (and sorry if some look well loved but they are my favourite):

P1080030

The first is the Sleek Storm palette. I have had this one for years and I love it because it is so versatile. I have often compared this to the Urban Decay Naked Palette however this one has the thing the Naked 1 doesn’t have and that is a good jet black shade; and I feel black is essential for any look.

I love this to travel with because of it’s sleek (no pun intended) design and the colours are extremely pigmented. I love the high statin/ glitter finish on nearly all the eyeshadows and this just makes them so creamy and easy to blend. The three mattes are also very easy to blend.

I would recommend this as a palette for absolute beginners because it is £7.99 and very good quality so there is not much effort that needs to happen to get great results.

P1080031

The next is the Urban Decay Naked 1 palette and if you know anything about makeup you know about this palette. I love the first palette as I think it is the most universal and the best for all year round looks. I like the other two however their colours are won’t suit everyone and the colours feel more seasonal.

The pigmentation of these eyeshadows are just amazing and you really need very little to make a look stunning. I like the versatility of this palette as you can use the shades for day and night looks. The warm golds combined with the cooler tones at the end makes this such a great colour combination.

For £35 this is a bit of a splurge piece but I think that it is really worth it. As long as you ignore the terrible packaging – like seriously what is with that tiny mirror.

P1080032

Smashbox On the Rocks palette has one of the best variety in textures of a palette you could think of. There are mattes, satin, pearl and glitter finishes to the eyeshadows so if you love playing with texture as well as colour then this is great for you.

The colours are very dark so I would not classify this as a day or universal palette it is mainly for going out when you want a very heavy smokey look. The pigmentation is amazing and it is very easy to use and blend in to each colour. I will say the shades do look quite similar form far away when applied so don’t expect amazing colour destination but the textures always appear to be different.

P1080033

The Makeup Revolution Iconic Pro 1 palette is a full dupe (it is even marketed as a dupe) for the Lorac Pro palette. Now as price goes this is amazing this palette is £6.99 where as the Lorac is around £45. Big difference. Now I haven’t tried the Lorac palette but I can’t imagine that it could get any better than this one.

This one is perfect for all the time usage. The top row is all matte and the bottom is a satin finish so there is lots of choice in what to do with it. I love using this for either very subtile day looks or very striking night time looks.

Again like the Sleek Storm palette I would say that this is a great one for beginners as it is very easy to use and has a good range. It also comes with a double ended brush.

P1080034

I know this is another Urban Decay palette but this one is amazing. This one is the Ammo palette and this has the most amazing range of shades. Trying to find a good multi-coloured or rainbow palette can leave you feeling over whelmed by the choice of colour. This however has the perfect range if you want to create some very sticking colourful looks.

I love the finishes of these eyeshadows as they are mostly satin finishes that look very glittery on the eyes, especially in day light. I love layering these different shades to make new combinations.

I ma not sure this one is still available in store however have a look on eBay as it is really worth it.

Leave a Reply

