Creative criticism and not trolls

The Internet is full of haters and trolls and this post is not about them… well it is half about them but it is about general criticism and constructive criticism and not the ‘I hate you, you’re ugly’ comments.

Tolls are easy to spot and the rule is ignore them, block them or just be nice to them. Don’t reply back, don’t get in to arguments and most importantly don’t take that type of comment to heart at all.

So the first time that I really experienced comments and criticism on a post or video was my Elsa hair and dress tutorial from my YouTube channel. Now to start off with there were the typical ‘i hate you’ comments but there were a few that were genuinely constructive that I have taken in to account.

There was one girl who said the video didn’t have much information so I made a point that when I did voice overs and tutorials in the future to say what I was doing in detail and not just assume people know how to do something just because they are seeing me do it in the video.

However I know a lot of bloggers and bloggers who would just dismiss that comment as being from a hater and never think to change your blog/ vlog style in the future.

But let me remind you that the vast majority of content creators on the Internet have little or no professional training in writing or videography. How else are you meant to learn except by realising what you could have done better.

A lot have training in the field they are dealing with; be it baking or hair styling or nail art but very few have those skills with formal training in writing or film making. I am the opposite I have no beauty or fashion training but I am currently studying for a MA in magazine journalism so I am the rule but in reverse so to speak.

There are a lot of vloggers who I do see dismiss genuine constructive comments because they think that they are just trolls. They never see that their work can be better and their blog/ videos never get better because they think that they are perfect at what they are doing.

Even the best bloggers and blogger can approve in some way so I feel that we shouldn’t dismiss negative comments automatically and think someone is just being mean for the sake of it. Of course never take any of the real trolls to heart but we can all learn a lot with a tiny bit of creative criticism.

When I did my first give way at the start of this year I asked people to comment on the good and bad points about my YouTube channel and I can tell you I learnt a lot more about my videos and what my demographics wanted by doing that than anything else.

And guess what it was the negative comments that made me rethink my video styles and what I put on my channel. I was more aware of what my subscribers wanted as I asked them to be honest.

I would honestly recommend doing something like that when you ask your audience to be honest with you about the content you make.

So in that swing of things leave a comment about my blog and what you like, what you hate or just your opinions on this subject matter.

Leave a Reply

