Blogging, YouTube and the matter of copyright

I was recently informed by a few of my viewers on YouTube that a video of mine had been uploaded on to another person’s site. The video was the one of me donating my hair.

This person had added in a few extra pieces and cut the video slightly however the video was basically mine.

Under UK law, not sure about the rest of the world, that video is copyrighted to me. I was in it, I filmed it and edited it. I own that copyright. Even when I put that video on YouTube I still hold the rights to it.

YouTube has the duty of removing videos that are copies and will remove a video if proved that it infringes on copyright.

I did contact this person who stole my video and he did delete it. He did try to claim that he could use my work, as it was a reaction video, but it does not work like that.

Just so everyone knows a UK resident is covered under the Copyright, Design and Patients Act 1988 Section one (sub-section 1 for written and sub-section 2 for video and audio files.)

If you want to scare people in to removing your content from people’s site then quote this to them and say you will sue. Works like a charm.

I am all for people using my work as long as people don’t upload directly to their own site and claim that it is their work. Using a section or a small clip I am not too bothered about as long as they credit me.

A person embedding my content is a way to gain views and support as long as it is clear that my work.

We treat blogging and online content made by an amateur as different to how you would treat a professional piece of work by a magazine or newspaper site. But the law covers all content creators not just professionals.

You wouldn’t download and then re-upload a piece by the Times without crediting then why should people feel that it is okay to do the same to my work.

The problem with bloggers and YouTubers is that they are not fully aware of the laws that are in place. Professionals have to be trained and will be held accountable for their actions by their employers.

There is terms when uploading but who really reads that. YouTube might turn up on my door one day and demand the deeds to my house as I singed in agreement to their terms and condition. But who has the time to do legal reading?

I don’t know the solution for things like this but the main thing is to make sure that you know your right and keep a check on your content.

I didn’t notice the guy uploading my video until over a month and in that time he gained over a quarter of a million views – views that should have been to my site not his.

Can you tell I am still a bit angry about all this?

Any who just remember that you content is your own and you have a right to it and who publishes it elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

