Manchester Independent Coffee Shops

A tour of a few of my favourite independent coffee shops in Manchester plus details about my coffee shop crawl.

Ancoats Coffee

#latte and a #cappuccino from @ancoatscoffeeco

A post shared by Vicki Evans (@vickiemilyevans) on

 

Roasting their beans onsite so the smell of fresh coffee is wafting through the cafe the entire time. The house blend is quite strong and bitter however have it with a latte it becomes much smoother.
The overall feel of the cafe is industrial and perfect for meetings or working away from the office. It is not overly cosy but, if you are like me, and spend half your life in coffee shops blogging this one is perfect.

Federal Coffee

#avocado #bacon and #eggs from @federalcafebar

A post shared by Vicki Evans (@vickiemilyevans) on

 

An Australian and New Zealand style cafe that feels a lot like it would fit perfectly into Albert Park in Melbourne or Parnell in Auckland. The latter, I can say from experience.
Rustic and chic with great food. I didn’t actually have coffee here due to the coffee shop crawl and needing to minimise the amount of caffeine I have in the day. But I did eat the food and it was the best lunch that I have ever had.
I had smashed avocado with bacon, rocket and eggs. Everything was to perfection and worked so great together. The cafe also sold traditional Australian cakes although if it were authentically OZ or NZ, there wouldn’t have lattes and cappuccinos on the menus – flat whites all around.

Pot Kettle Black

#coldbrew at @pkbcoffee

A post shared by Vicki Evans (@vickiemilyevans) on

 

#saltedcaramel #brownie at @pkbcoffee

A post shared by Vicki Evans (@vickiemilyevans) on

 
Located in an arcade just off Deansgate, I have probaly walked passed this coffee shop more times than I can count but I wish I had found it sooner. This is you all rounder. The place you go to catch up with friends or with work as it has a very balanced mix of seating and atmosphere.
The coffee is smooth and served with a wafer biscuit. It is also one of the few places that I have found places to serve cold brew.
Cake variety is a bit lacking unless you like brownies and then you have a choice of about ten different flavours, I went for the salted caramel because I was on a hipster trip.

 

The video of the tour

Leave a Reply

